Lilac Drive, Clinton Township, Hunterdon County, NJ

74 acres


Echo Hill EEA is located on Lilac Drive, 7 miles north of Flemington, near the hamlet of Stanton Station, in the township of Clinton.  Hours of operation are 8 am until dusk and are posted at the park's entrance.  

It is part of the South Branch Reservation, a linear park stretching from Clinton to Flemington.  

Facilities:  play area, picnic area, lode, cabins, camping area, trails, pond, multi-purpose room.


Constructed as a private summer camp for children by Robert and Hermia Lechner in 1936, this 76 acre site consists of hardwood forests, pine stands, mowed fields, a two acre pond, and the gentle waters of Prescott Brook.

By 1938, with assistance from the federal government's Work Progress Administration and Civilian Conservation Corps, the Lechners became involved in environmental projects such as transforming the former farm into a forest of evergreens and improving the pond.

In 1973 the Hunterdon County Park System acquired the property as part of the South Branch Reservation with the continued emphasis to explore the different aspects of the natural environment.


Uses:  picnics, environmental study, group camping, receptions, hiking, X-country skiing, horseback riding, fishing, bird watching, meetings.

There are two loop trails, one short and one longer.