DEMAREST NATURE CENTER
Demarest, Bergen County, NJ
George Washington Bridge; north on 9W; exit onto Hillside Avenue; right turn onto County Road north to a left turn onto Hardenburgh Avenue; pass over railroad tracks; turn right onto Columbus Road; the main entrance is on the right.
Tenakill Brook flows north-south through the area.
The name Demarest refers to the Demarest family.
1663 -- one of a band of French Huguenots, David Demarest, originally known as Davis des Marets and founder of the Demarest family in America, came to this country.
1677 -- David Demarest settled in Bergen County.
1723 -- the earliest settlers in the Demarest area were the Dutch Westervelts, whose homestead still stands as the northern wing at 277 County Road. Other Dutch settlers from New Amsterdam (New York) soon followed.
1972 -- the borough of Demarest leased the land to the Demarest Nature Center Association.
(The History of Demarest;
Demarest Nature Center; http://www.demarestnaturecenter.org/)
Tenakill Brook, small ponds, children's playground and ball fields.
Hiking trails. Also here is a 1.5 mile jogging trail with various exercise stations.
The Tenakill Brook divides the area into a east/west section. The west section with the main entrance contains most of the trail length, while the eastern section contains the Demarest Swim Club, tennis court, playground and Wakelee Field. Two bridges over the Tenakill Brook connect the paths in the two sections.